Rocks Always Win

Jan - 17 2014 | By

About one month ago I went to enchanted rock with my friend, which is if you didn’t know, is a huge heavily weathered rock. It takes about one and a half hours to drive from Austin to there, but I believe that it was well worth it.

We actually saw Miranda Seade there which was a little weird and coincidental.

The climbing up to the top was different from the previous times because it seemed like every other time there had been 20 MPH wind pushing back on us. But on this time, it was a beautiful day at 60 degrees and a clear sky. We walked around the rock like we always did but this time was different. We were going to go in the caves which we had previously had never traversed.

The caves weren’t something that you would usually expect. It was small, dark, and wet. It started out big enough but gradually shrunk down. We had to start doing a sort of sideways crab walk where we put both of our feet on the other side of the chasm [4 feet wide] and our back on this side.

As the time went on it did get increasingly more difficult and gradually went from gray, to black, to some shade that was so dark I can’t describe it.

We emerged from the cave on the whole other side of the mountain, which surprised me because it only felt like we traveled a couple hundred feet.

This is the part where it gets painful—for an idiot like me. There was a big boulder which we had to run up and grab a handhold to lift ourselves up. ,y friend and his dad went first, and when it was my turn I didn’t think twice as I raced towards the granite.

*CRUNCH* I felt my bones giving way as i didn’t move my left arm away in time and stiff armed a rock. Feeling like my bones were jello, I fell to the ground, embarrassing myself for a second time. Clutching my arm I thought to myself why am I such an idiot?. We returned back to the car not risking another injury, us all feeling a little disappointed I could tell.

It was a fun adventure until that stupid little mistakes, but then again—it’s always those little mistakes that cause your downfall. So the lesson of the day is. If you are trying to take on a rock, it will always win

Tags:

Write you response




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar