Surprise!! Do A Solo

Oct - 18 2013 | By

“You have been chosen”, they said, all weird like as I came back into the Band hall.
“What?” I ask, in a sort of stupid manor.

They started to tell me but it was time for class. The rest of the period my mind lingered on that statement, wondering what it must be.

Still at the end of the day, my head was still wandering around that statement. Once the final bell rang, I walk over into the office where Mrs.Riecc was.

“What did they mean by I was chosen” I asked her. She looked up from her papers. You were chosen to perform a solo at the concert.

What!! I was screaming in my head. I couldn’t do that by myself, no way, nohow. But I didn’t want  to look weak so I agreed.

One week,  practiced for maybe 1 hour to 1 hour and a half everyday, but I still couldn’t get it perfect. There was always that more flaw that messed up. Weathering down my confidence little by little, which was already a mess before.

The day before the concert, we did a rehearsal in class of all the songs, which means I had to play in front of everybody. On the bright side I got practice in front of a lot of people. On the bad side… I screwed up.

The concert was here, and I had just  aced it in my practice. Tonight will be ok after all. Concert band went up first and they did a pretty good job. My friend was also doing a solo which might seem like a confidence booster, but it wasn’t. I don’t want to mess up after my friend did one.

Symphonic band’s turn. The first  two songs were gone in a flash. It was my time. Mrs. Riecc made an announcement on some students “volunteered” for the opportunity to play there district etude’s in front of  oh.. say 300 people.

She announced my name, and it was my time to shine… or wither away, fail, and be shunned. I started off, maybe 3-4 seconds after she announced me not wanting to become nervous.

Everything went great… until the last measure. I missed a high-F grace note (which I don’t know if you guys know, it is base clef). Dang I did so well all for that one note.

I don’t think anybody noticed though because they still clapped. That was my first solo and i think it didn’t go as half bad as  i though it would go.

Tags:

1 Comment

  1. jasont424 says:

    I think you did a great job clark. But in your writing, I would have to disagree about me not being a confidence booster.



Write you response




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar